Trial and Error

Last time I posted a menu plan I said I was going to try planning a month out instead of a week out. Things went great for the first two weeks, then I forgot what I was supposed to make and life interjected it’s own opinions about dinner time. By planning monthly I was hoping to cut down on the number of grocery store trips I’d have to make but, of course, purchasing 2 weeks worth of produce yielded 1 weeks worth of bad produce. I can certainly buy the non-perishable items ahead of time, but I’d forget what I bought such-and-such a thing for, use it on something else, then not have it when it came time to make the originally intended recipe.

So, back to weekly grocery store trips for the produce, and I’ll have to figure out a way to make sure items don’t get used before their time has come. I’ve toyed with the idea of getting bins for inside the refrigerator, one bin per recipe, but then what about things like fresh herbs or cream where they could be used for several recipes? I’ve thought about printing out the recipes for that week and posting them on the fridge so both me and Husband know if that bag of shredded cheese has been earmarked for anything, but then I’d have to keep track of all those sheets of paper, adding a binder and thus more stuff to my life, or print everything each week, wasting a bunch of paper and ink. What do other people do?

Here is my plan for the next week-ish.

  1. Baked Potatoes with the works
  2. Slow Cooker Indian Curry Chicken
  3. Jacques Pépin’s Chicken Jardinière
  4. Alton Brown’s Mushroom Stroganoff with Goat Cheese
  5. Vegetable éTouffée (from One Dish Vegan by Robin Robertson)
  6. Couscous with Edamame & Chickpeas – except I can never find edamame anymore so peas will substitute (from One Dish Vegan by Robin Robertson)
  7. Stir-Fried Portobellos with Ginger-Oyster Sauce (America’s Test Kitchen)

And as a belated birthday treat for Husband, Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake.

Menu Plan Monday from Orgjunkie.com

Leave a Reply

