A Very Veggie Week

In an effort to eat healthier I started out by doing one vegetarian meal a week. That was a few years ago and now I try to do only one meaty meal a week. Of course, Husband is not exactly of the same mindset so if he gets to the kitchen before I do, we’re probably going to be eating a quick ‘n’ dirty beef stroganoff kind of concoction. Tasty, but far from healthy.  This week I don’t have a single meaty dish on the menu, although it could be easily added if a totally meatless week is too much for some people to handle…

Monday –  Leftovers

Tuesday – Stir-Fried Portobellos with Ginger-Oyster Sauce

Wednesday – Easy Pad Thai

Thursday – Rice and Broccoli with Lemony White Bean Sauce (from One Dish Vegan by Robin Robertson)

Friday – Grilled pizza

Menu Plan Monday

2 thoughts on “A Very Veggie Week

  1. I tried that Easy Pad Thai recipe last week. I’m wondering how you handle the sauce? In the directions it mentions that some people find it too dry and end up doubling the sauce. I increased the sauce recipe by half, but found it just a bit too tangy. I ALMOST loved the recipe, so I’m wondering if it would be better good (and not dry) with the original amount of sauce. Any other tweaks you’d recommend?

    Like

    1. I double the sauce and reserve half of it for leftovers the next day—the noodles tend to stick together in one big brick so I use the reserved sauce to bring it back to life. As for flavor, I personally think it’s rather perfect the way it is, but if you find it to be too tangy you could try reducing the amount of lime juice, or using Tamari instead of soy sauce. Tamari is less salty, typically gluten free, and I find it to be a little less potent than soy sauce. Wake The Wolves has a great post about the differences between the two (http://wakethewolves.com/what-is-tamari-vs-soy-sauce/). And since Tamari is a little thicker than soy sauce, you could probably use less Tamari and add a little water. I’m no expert chef, but I hope this helps!

      Like

Leave a Reply

