August 11, 2010

One of the Best Sunsets of Duluth

I started blogging back in 2009. I called it Daily Duluth at the time because my original aim was simply to take one picture every day of Lake Superior. I had just moved to the area and found it to be breathtaking. I never wanted to miss a beat or take it for granted. Plus, I noticed that it seemed like the Lake never looked the same twice; neon blue one day, shrouded in mist the next, or iron-red streaks from sediment churned up by earlier storms. I wanted to document the changes and also created color palettes based on the photos I took.

One of my favorite photos of that project happened in August of 2010. We were on the beach near Sky Harbor airport and suddenly the sunset took a dramatic and incredible turn.

August 11, 2010

My Daily Duluth project ended; it was only intended to last a year, but the Lake still draws me. The beach is one of my happy places, swimming in Lake Superior, as cold as it is, still heals my soul, and I can think of no other place I’d rather be. The best part is, now I have a puppy to take with me!

wpid-wp-1435589165679.jpg

Leave a Reply

