Season’s End

Conflicted. That’s how I felt after receiving a call the day I was supposed to volunteer this week and was told there was nothing for me to do. On one hand, that means all the orphans and injured animals are healed and grown and are ready, or nearly ready, for release. That’s good! On the other hand, all the goodness that my time at Wildwoods brings me every week is likely over for the season. That makes me sad-face.

It’s hard to put into words how I feel when I’m spending my time feeding and caring for the critters. I feel needed. Everyone needs to feel needed. I feel like I have something meaningful to do with my free time that I actually enjoy doing. In the absence of a meaningful job, this is critical. I feel soothed when I get to pet a little squirrel or rabbit or even a bird. Just like with my pup’n’cat, it melts away a bad day. I feel absolutely in awe and more spiritually connected when I find myself face-to-face with an Eagle or Heron or any creature I haven’t seen up close before.

I dislike winter and now I have an even bigger reason to look forward to spring.

Visit Wildwoods’ website to learn more about wildlife rehabilitation.

Leave a Reply

