Sardine and Avocado Toast

Inspired by Alton Brown’s “4 Lists” from his show, Good Eats (episode “Live and let diet “) I set out to add more oily fish to my diet (omega-3 fatty acids and other health benefits). I used his recipe for a sardine and avocado toast, which was incredibly delicious.

Husband was very skeptical when I brought home a tin of sardines so I made this when he wasn’t around. And, in true Me fashion, I neglected to get all the ingredients from Alton’s recipe so I made do with what I had.

Ingredients

  • 1 can brisling sardines in oil
  • 1.5 tsp red wine vinegar
  • 1.5 tsp dried parsley, plus extra for garnish
  • 1/8-ish tsp lemon zest
  • Two 1/2″ slices sourdough (I didn’t have any and ended up using 100% whole wheat Sandwich Thins from Brownberry. Tasty but I bet the sourdough would be better)
  • 1 hass avocado
  • pinch of kosher salt
  • a goodly sized lemon wedge, for squeezing over the finished product

Directions

  1. Drain the sardines into a small bowl. Separate oil into two even portions. Into one portion, add vinegar, parsley, and lemon zest. Whisk together then gently fold in sardines. Set aside to marinate 15 mins to an hour.
  2. Heat up your broiler. Brush reserved oil onto the bread slices and broil until lightly browned.
  3. Spread avocado equally and evenly on the toast. Then evenly distribute the marinaded sardines on that. Sprinkle with parsley, kosher salt, and lemon juice. Serve immediately.

The original recipe can be found here.

image

Leave a Reply

