Hares and Owl

Fed Baby Snowshoe Hares, a chipmunk and a red squirrel. Also watched a baby barred owl’s food being prepared: skinned mice. Yum.

And there is the elephant-in-the-room question. Why are we saving an owl at the expense of mice, which we also save? I do not officially speak for Wildwoods, but I can tell you how I feel about it. My answer is simply, an animal needs help, it’s here, and so am I. That’s all I need to know. And even mice have an important role to play in our ecosystem.

Visit Wildwoods’ website to learn more about wildlife rehabilitation.

Leave a Reply

