Fawns and Owls

So many wonderful things happened today it’s hard to believe this is my life. Today I held a fawn while my friend bottle fed it. It fell asleep in my arms with the bottle in its mouth. The second little fawn had already been fed but sucked on my finger expecting more (sorry little guy). Then I got to feed chunks of raw chicken to a Barred Owl and to pet him, for which he seemed grateful.

Then, less glamorous but cool nonetheless, I climbed into a cage with robins and starlings and fed them worms while they perched on my hand (these are not pet parakeets, they are wild creatures I’ll remind you, and I did not get pecked at or shat on even once, though one did get a bit tangled in my hair). And of course, let’s not forget the squirrel feeding. It is incredible that these animals just let me pick them up, hold them and pet them without biting or clawing or trying to defend themselves in any way.

*Disclaimer: Don’t pick up wild animals and try to cuddle with them. Wildwoods is a controlled environment with experts at the ready, and your back yard is the opposite of that.

Visit Wildwoods’ website to learn more about wildlife rehabilitation.

Leave a Reply

