Zucchini is a Wonderful Thing

I had a personal triumph in the kitchen last night. I made food that my husband raved about, and not just “no, yeah, this is good honey. I like it just fine.” It was, “wow! This is amazing! How did you come up with this? SOOO GOOD!”

And I owe it all to the humble zucchini.

Zucchini FrittersWell, that and an amazing recipe for Zucchini Fritters. I’m not going to re-post the recipe here because I only made a couple of changes:

+ Added 3-4 minced garlic cloves to the batter
+ Used chipotle powder instead of chili powder in the dip
+ In one batch (yes, this is so good I’ve made several batches) I ran out of mayo so it was 1/3 mayo, 1/3 plain greek yogurt, and 1/3 sour cream. The dip turned out fine.

These things were freaking fantastic, and super easy to make. I cannot rave enough about them, and neither could my husband. So go over to FamilyFeedBag.com and make Zucchini Fritters RIGHT NOW!

*Tip: the recipe calls for 3 cups of shredded zucchini; for me, that was three 8-oz zucchini. But get 4 because you can use the fourth one for…

Cheesy zucchini pizza! It’s not actually pizza, more like a zucchini bake, but when my husband saw it before it went in the oven, he said “zucchini pizza!” So that’s what I’m sticking with. After making the fritters, I had one zucchini left so I sliced it up and baked it with a mixture of Ricotta cheese, grated Parmesan cheese (the good stuff), and home-made basil pesto and fresh mozzarella. Melty, cheesy, pesto-ey, tasty! It was meant to be a ‘bed’ for the chicken, but we just grabbed some forks and dug in as soon as it was done.

Cheesy Zucchini “Pizza” with Pesto
makes 2 servings, and don’t expect it to hold together like pizza. It won’t

Ingredients:

  • 1 zucchini, thinly sliced length-wise
  • 1/4 C Ricotta cheese
  • 2 Tbsp shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tsp pesto
  • 8 thick slices fresh mozzarella
  • pinch kosher salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Line a baking sheet with tin foil and lightly spray with cooking spray (or lightly coat with olive oil). Lay the zucchini slices in a single layer so they are touching each other, to form a square. This is the base of the “Pizza” and will be holding the ingredients. Set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, mix Ricotta, Parmesan, and pesto until well combined. Spread this mixture over the zucchini slices. Place sliced mozzarella evenly on top and sprinkle with kosher salt.
  3. Bake until the cheese is melty, bubbly, and just beginning to brown. (we used a toaster oven and I lost track of time… I think it was about 15-20 minutes?) Remove from oven and serve immediately.

I was planning on serving herbed chicken on top of this, but we ended up devouring it as soon as it came out of the oven. And actually, now that I think about it, this would be fantastic on top of garlic toast! Hmm… more experimentation is needed 😉

2 thoughts on “Zucchini is a Wonderful Thing

Leave a Reply

