Lemon Ginger Chicken

The delicious result of a lot of staring at a bleakly empty refrigerator.

The other night, I used what I had around to make a great meal. Unfortunately I didn’t get any pictures and, per my usual, I didn’t measure anything so this will be a quick post.

I haven’t gone grocery shopping in a while so the routine for the past few days has been to come home from work, take a chunk or two of some sort of frozen meat out of the freezer, thaw it, and stare at it a while until I think of something to do with it. After a few minutes of staring at the chicken I had thawed, and what was in [or rather, not in] the refrigerator, I found my inspiration: lemons.Here’s what you need:

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • olive oil
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • zest of 1/2 lemon
  • ground ginger
  • spinach
  • I may have added pepper and cilantro; I can’t remember. Both would be good additions, though. Garlic too.

Here’s what you do:

  1. Heat a little bit of olive oil in a pan over medium-high heat. Stir in the lemon juice, zest and ginger. Add the chicken and turn a couple of times to coat. Turn down the heat and cook the chicken until it’s done. Remove from heat and let rest.
  2. In a sauce pan, over low heat, add a little olive oil and lemon juice (maybe 1-2 Tbsp each). Add an entire 9oz bag of spinach and stir to fully coat with the lemon juice and olive oil. Cook until spinach is wilted. Remove from heat and serve with the chicken.

Boom! Dinner done.

After this success I still haven’t been to the store to restock my groceries, so I had another “what am I gonna do with this chicken?” evening. The result: an Indian inspired dish with yogurt, cumin and other spices over a bed of rice. I was able to get pictures of that so I’ll post it later in the week.

Leave a Reply

