Buttermilk Pancakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese

Buttermilk Pancakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese

You should probably thank me now for this recipe because your mouth will be full later. I’ve posted before about the best pancakes in the world. Now I have a great topping to go with them!

I am not a fan of syrup. I never really have been. It’s too sweet and it’s so sticky; it doesn’t matter how hard I try, it just gets everywhere. I’ll admit the real 100% maple syrup you find at places like Whole Foods Co-op is leaps and bounds better than standard grocery store stuff, but I still prefer less sweet, creamier toppings for my breakfast.

Cream cheese and cinnamon sugar have long been staples at my pancake table, but cream cheese can be hard to spread and ends up ripping the pancakes to pieces sometimes. I’d end up just double-fisting it with a knife and chunk of cream cheese in one hand and a bite of pancake on my fork in the other. But no more! I have found a way. It’s quick and easy and delicious. The perfect substitute for those of us who do not appreciate maple syrup like we should.

Buttermilk Pancakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese

For the Pancakes:

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 C Milk
  • 2 Tbsp vinegar
  • 1 C flour
  • 3 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbsp melted butter

Directions

  1. Combine milk and vinegar. Set aside for 5 minutes (or substitute with 3/4 C buttermilk if you have it)
  2. Combine dry ingredients. Set aside
  3. Whisk egg and butter into milk/vinegar
  4. Combine wet and dry ingredients. Mix until smooth
  5. Cook them. :)

For the Cinnamon Cream Cheese topping:

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • generous dose of ground cinnamon
  • dash of ground allspice
  • 1.5 tsp powdered sugar
  • milk (or, for a special treat, Bailey’s Irish Cream)

Directions:

  1. Beat all the ingredients except the milk together with an electric mixer until smooth. SLOWLY, bit by bit, add some milk until you get the consistency you want.
  2. Spread on your pancakes
Leave a Reply

