Menu Plan for Week 11 of 2013

Menu Plan Monday from Orgjunkie.comWhat a productive week it’s been! I made a Thanksgiving turkey (yes, in March), Kale Powered Pasta from DiabeticLiving.com, Home-made English muffins, “cream of [whatever] condensed canned soup substitute, home-made taco seasoning (minus the preservatives) and more.

Jump to This Week’s Menu

Last Week’s Menu

The most amazing turkey you will ever eat, I swear.The Best Brined Turkey. I found this recipe several years ago, I can’t remember where, but I haven’t made a turkey any other way since I found it. The meat is tender and juicy, not too salty, and the herbs make it smell and taste amazing. Read More…
Cooked English MuffinsHome Made English Muffins. Mild success with this one. It was a trial, to say the least. They turned out very tasty, but the texture was quite dense for an English muffin, and the time it took me to make them was more than I’m willing to spend for the result. Slap a little butter on it, though, and all is right with the world. Read More…
Kale Powered PastaKale Powered Pasta. This recipe came from DiabeticLiving.com and we liked it so much we made it twice. Quick and easy to make, packs a great taste and healthy benefits too! I substituted some things I had on hand for things they called for in the original recipe, and completely forgot one of the ingredients, but it was still delicious. I served this with a side of Tangy Broccoli Salad. Read More…
Tangy Brocoli SaladTangy Broccoli Salad. This was adapted from a recipe I got out of a Kraft magazine many, many years ago. It’s a creamy, sweet-and-sour salad. I think it’s a great substitution for cole slaw, which I despise. Read More…
Tangy Brocoli SaladTater Tot Hotdish. How can you not love a good tater tot hotdish? This one is especially good because I did not use cream of mushroom soup from a can. I made my own! Read More…
Chicken & Rice CasseroleChicken & Rice Casserole. In need of a 2.5+ hour cooking project? Then this is the recipe for you! It was good, but wow, what a lot of work. Read More…
Slow-Cooker Herbed Chicken & Mushroom from BHG.com
Their picture (at BHG.com)
My attempt at Slow-Cooker Herbed Chicken & Mushroom from BHG.com
My results… Not exactly similar.

Herbed Chicken & Mushrooms (Slow-Cooker). I feel a little like this recipe was a bait-and-switch. Our results did not look anything like the picture on the original Better Homes & Gardens recipe and this was more like a chicken stew than anything else. I was not impressed and therefore did not make a blog post for it.

I also made a couple of substitute mixes. Since I can’t afford to buy everything organic, making my own mixes seemed like a logical place to start cutting back on the amount of preservatives and non-necessary chemicals we consume.

  • “Cream of…” canned soup substitute. This was easy to put together and the ingredients, some of which I don’t use often, were cheap enough to make it worth-while. I haven’t used it yet, but I’m on the look-out for some recipes that call for a can of cream of something soup. Maybe I’ll make some Tater Tot Hotdish next week!
  • Taco Seasoning. The recipe I used made only a small amount of taco seasoning, which is good because it gave me a chance to taste-test it before I make it in bulk. So far I’ve tried it on beef and in taco dip with varying results. On the beef it was great, in the dip it fell flat. The flavor just wasn’t strong enough. I probably just needed to add more seasoning, but I hesitated to do so because of the salt called for in the recipe. I really don’t think you need to add salt to a spice mix like this because you can always add salt later if needed. Most of the time recipes call for extra salt anyway. Next time I make it, I’ll omit the salt.

This Week’s Menu

My Pinterest Menu Board

Leave a Reply

