Home-Made English Muffins

I made them on a whim. I saw them on Pinterest and decided, hey, why not? I have all the ingredients, it’s Saturday. Let’s do this! Holy crap were they ever a pain in the butt. After all was said and done I probably spent about 3 hours making these things, partly due to my messy kitchen and lack of work-space, and partly due to things not going the way they were supposed to. Also, they did NOT look like picture from the recipe I was using.

The original recipe simply has us “fry” (though no oil or butter is involved) each muffin in a hot pan to cook them. However, the first few I did ended up undercooked and a bit doughy in the middle. They didn’t taste bad, nor were they in-edible—adding butter masked the slightly undercooked feeling—but they were still not quite right. So I put them in the oven for a while to finish baking. By the time I preheated my oven, though, the muffins had cooled and I think this is why, even after baking them for another 10 minutes in a 400°F oven, they were a little doughy still (though better; and after they cooled for a while they were not so doughy looking anymore).

Maybe it’s just me and what I am used to, but I thought English muffins were supposed to have fairly large air pockets in the middle. These were just really dense all the way through, and for this reason I probably won’t try this recipe again. I thought I’d share it anyway because it did make some really tasty biscuits. My only complaint with them, really, is that the texture just wasn’t what I was expecting.

Home Made English Muffins

Yield: 12

Time to make: All flipping day.

Ingredients:

  • 1 C warm water (105-110°F *)
  • 1/2 Tbsp active dry yeast
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • 3 Tbsp of honey
  • 5 C all-purpose flour, divided
  • 1 tsp salt
  • cornmeal

Directions:

  1. Gently stir yeast into warm water. Set aside for 10 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, heat the milk, butter and honey until the butter is melted. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.
  3. Add the yeast/water to the milk/butter mixture and stir gently. Set aside.
  4. In a large bowl, sift 3 cups of flour. Stir in the milk and yeast. Sift the remaining 2 cups of flour and the salt. Stir until well combined.
  5. Working on a floured surface, knead the dough for 1-2 minutes or til lightly elastic. Let rest for 5 minutes.
  6. Cover two cookie sheets with parchment paper and lightly sprinkle with cornmeal.
  7. Roll the dough out on a floured surface to 1/2 inch thick.
  8. With a biscuit cutter, cookie cutter, or a drinking glass, cut out circles. Gently place muffins on the cookie sheets, sprinkle the tops with cornmeal and cover with a dry, light cloth. Place in a 200°F oven and let dough rise for 45 minutes. Be careful not to let the cloth touch the sides of the oven.
  9. Heat a heavy bottomed skillet on medium low, don’t grease it. When the dough has risen, remove from oven and preheat the oven to 400°F.
  10. Gently shake some of the cornmeal off each muffin and place them into the hot pan. Don’t let them touch each other.
  11. Cook muffins on low heat for 8 minutes per side or until browned well. Place muffins back on cookie sheets and bake in center of the oven for 7-10 minutes or until they sound hollow when tapped.
  12. Serve warm with butter

* Water should feel warm, not cool, not hot, but warm against the first knuckle (the one closest to the fingernail) on your pinky finger.

My husband is a huge fan of these, even if they are a bit dense. If I make them again, though, I might try this recipe from Foodess.com.

English Muffin Dough
English Muffin Dough, after kneading
English muffins, waiting to be cooked
English muffins, waiting to be cooked
Cooked English Muffins
Cooked English Muffins
FromCalorieCount.About.com
From
CalorieCount.About.com
2 thoughts on “Home-Made English Muffins

Leave a Reply

