Menu Plan for Week 47 of 2012

A review of Spinach Burgers, Baked Herb and Parmesan Potato Slices, Egg White Omelette and more…

I’ve been out of the menu planning game for a few weeks. It just seems like when the weather changes everyone has something going on every weekend. So lately our meals have been a lot of “oh crap, we should probably eat something. Uh… rice?” Last week, though, I planned and I (mostly) stuck to it! Found a couple good recipes to add to the “tried and true” list and I found some new ways to make things I’ve done before.

Jump to next week’s menu.

Breakfast

Overnight Oats – I have been eating this for breakfast nearly every (work) day for the past few weeks. You may recall I didn’t like the original rendition of the recipe, but I thought it had a lot of potential. Boy, did it! Go ahead and read more about my Overnight Breakfast…

Egg White Omelette – I have a mild egg allergy. The yolks of eggs make me sick to my stomach when I eat them, though eggs in things, like brownies, are ok. I really like eggs, though, and every once in a while I’d like to eat one. So when I came across this omelette recipe on Pinterest I just had to try it. It turned out pretty good, though it did reinforce my distaste for warm tomatoes, and I did make a few changes. Read more…

Main Dishes

Honey-Garlic Pork Chops – I made this recipe exactly to specification and it was pretty good; I’d give it 3 stars. I like a very flavorful pork and since this is not a marinade, the flavor, as delectable as it was, was all on the outside of the chops, leaving the middle somewhat… blah. Also, there was not enough garlic called for in the recipe to make it worth the effort.

Spinach Burger – Not too shabby! Incredibly easy, quick, and pretty tasty, especially with a nice slice of melty provolone cheese on top. I give it 5 stars and wouldn’t change a thing (except maybe less red pepper flakes). Get the original recipe here.

Creamy Mushroom and Chicken Soup – A delicious, creamy soup that doesn’t use cream-of-question-mark-from-a-can soup. I made some changes based on personal taste, though. Husband hates cooked carrots so those didn’t make it into the stock pot, nor did celery, because celery is disgusting. Yellow squash… somehow I couldn’t find it at my grocery store, though they had spaghetti squash (not really the same thing, though). So that didn’t make it in either. In step 2 it says not to let it boil. Well I did and nothing exploded or tasted bad so I’m not sure why it can’t boil. Get the tasty original here.

Sides

Baked Herb and Parmesan Potato Slices – 3.5 stars out of 5. Only because the original recipe doesn’t call for nearly enough herbs. Although I already have some ideas on how to make these in a variety of ways, so maybe I should give it another 1/2 star. Ok, ok, 4 stars. Read more…

Next Week’s Menu

It’s Thanksgiving this week and I’m responsible for the dessert, so that’s why this week’s menu is so sweets-focused. This will be a bit of an adventure for me as my brother-in-law’s girlfriend suffers from Celiac’s disease and I will be making gluten-free foods for the first time. It’s a complex issue and I am learning quite a bit!

My Pinterest Menu Board

Leave a Reply

