Egg White Omelette

I have a mild egg allergy. The yolks of eggs make me sick to my stomach when I eat them, though eggs in things, like brownies, are ok. I really like eggs, though, and every once in a while I’d like to eat one. So when I came across this omelette recipe on Pinterest I just had to try it. It turned out pretty good, though it did reinforce my distaste for warm tomatoes, and I did make a few changes.

Husband and I use Penzey’s spices when we can and we have received a few of their catalogs, which include user-submitted recipes. Once such recipe included a cooked spinach side dish that was amazing. Basically, put lemon juice and olive oil in a pot, then add a 9oz bag of spinach and cook until it’s wilted. Then make a second batch because one isn’t going to be enough. So that’s what I started doing with this omelette recipe. Instead of just putting the spinach in the pot and wilting it, I added olive oil and lemon juice, and it makes a huge difference. It just adds something more to a fairly simple dish.

Egg White Omelette
Adapted from TheSkinnyConfidential.com

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cap-full lemon juice (about 1 tsp) or 1/2 tsp fresh
  • Handful of spinach
  • Dried cilantro, to taste
  • Dried basil, to taste
  • Dried parsley flakes, to taste
  • 3 egg whites
  • Salt & Pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Heat olive oil and lemon juice in a saucepan over medium-low heat. Add spinach and herbs, stirring well, and cook until spinach is wilted.
  2. Add egg whites over the top of the spinach. Add salt & pepper. Cover and cook over medium-low heat until omelette is cooked through, flipping once if necessary.

The original recipe also included sauteed onions; I didn’t because I just don’t feel like chopping up an onion first thing in the morning, but I think it would taste really good too.

2 thoughts on “Egg White Omelette

Leave a Reply

