Menu Plan for Week 39 of 2012

A review of Overnight Oats, Zuppa Toscana, Pan Roasted Chicken with Lemon-Garlic Green Beans, and Cucumber Boats

Most of the new recipes I try used to come exclusively from AllRecipes.com, but then Pinterest hit the scene and changed my life forever—we have yet to see if that’s a good thing or not. Now most of the new things I try come from things I’ve found on Pinterest. Sometimes they work out, and sometimes they fail miserably. I had a couple fails this week, but you can never really know what you like until you find out what you don’t like.

Jump to next week’s menu.

Breakfast

Overnight Oats – This was a half-fail and I’m still on the fence about it. The recipe, as it was, ended up soupy and unappetizing. But there was something about it that I just couldn’t let go. I give it 2.5 stars for taste and texture, but I give it 5 stars for potential. Read more…

Main Dishes

Pan-Roasted Chicken With Lemon-Garlic Green Beans – This was amazing. Hands down, amazing. 5 stars! If I were to blog about it I’d just end up copying and pasting the original recipe anyway, so you should get it straight from the source: RealSimple.com. I will say that we did not make this quite as directed because of a lack of the correct ingredients. It calls for skin-on bone-in chicken and I only had skinless chicken cutlets. So I just added the chicken on top of the veggies when there was about 30 minutes of baking time left. Worked out perfectly. If I were to pick one thing to change on purpose I would add something like red pepper flakes to the veggies or marinate the chicken in something that was different than the veggies.

Zuppa ToscanaZuppa Toscana – This was awesome, except sausage is gross. I despise Italian sausage; it’s too salty for me. So I thought I’d use breakfast sausage instead. Turns out I don’t really care for breakfast sausage either. But the soup was delicious. Next time I’ll double the bacon and replace all the sausage with beans of some sort. You can get the delicious recipe from SteakNPotatoesKindaGurl.blogspot.com

Snacks

Cucumber Boats – EPIC Fail. Ok, so maybe I didn’t make the cucumber into boats, I just chopped it and mixed it in with the cottage cheese mixture, but still, these were just gross. I will never make them again. The recipe calls for 3/4 C cottage cheese and 2 Tablespoons each of basil and cilantro. I knew that wasn’t right; it had to be a typo. Going back to the recipe I think they meant to say fresh basil and cilantro, but I had dried on hand so I did the conversion and added 2 tsp each (1 part dried equals 3 parts fresh), but even that was waaaaayyyyyy too much. Maybe 1/8 tsp each would be a good amount, but I don’t even want to give this one a second shot. Not only did it taste horrible, but I was burping basil the rest of the night and had green flakes in between all of my teeth.

Next Week’s Menu

My Pinterest Menu Board

Leave a Reply

