Overnight Oatmeal

I gave this recipe, as it was, 2.5 stars, but 5 for potential. When I made Overnight Oats the first time, following the recipe to the letter, it ended up as just milk soup with some oatmeal in it. It overwhelmingly tasted like plain greek yogurt with chunks in it. I added about 1/8 tsp each of sugar and cinnamon, and a couple dashes both of nutmeg and ground cloves. It helped, but the texture is still yogurty oatmeal soup. Once I strained it (which was no small feat since I was at work and didn’t actually have a strainer) it was a great deal better. I’d like to try it again but next time I will only use half the yogurt and milk. Oh, and I did not use the chia seeds. I meant to add ground flax meal, but I forgot.

Update

I have made this several times since that first oatmeal soup attempt and it has become on of my favorite things to eat for breakfast. In fact, I eat it every weekday. It’s so easy to prepare just before going to bed then grab it on my way out the door and eat it at work. I have made several edits to the original and have come up with a winning standard recipe.

Overnight Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • 1/2 C oats (not instant oatmeal)
  • 1/2 C milk (I use skim)
  • 1/4 C plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp honey (or to taste)
  • Cinnamon, to taste
  • Dash nutmeg
  • allspice or ground cloves to taste
  • chopped apples or sliced bananas (optional)

Directions

  1. In a sealable tupperware container or mason jar combine all ingredients except the fruit. Seal the container and shake, shake, shake! Put in the refrigerator overnight. Add fruit, if desired, and stir well just before eating.

Nutritional Info (caloriecount.about.com):

Since this recipe can take on many variations, nutritional info can change. But for my current iteration of Overnight Oats (1/2 C oats, 1/2 C skim milk, 1/4 C non-fat plain greek yogurt, 1/2 tsp maple syrup, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, dash allspice, dash nutmeg, all of which makes 1 serving) you can expect:

from CalorieCount.About.com
from CalorieCount.About.com
5 thoughts on “Overnight Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

