Tuna Burgers

As I mentioned in a previous post I dislike eating something unhealthy after a workout, but am too exhausted to really cook anything. Well I think I may have found my go-to for my uninspired workout day dinner blues. The Tuna Burger. It’s simple, tasty, and versatile. It came from CanYouStayForDinner.com.

Lemon Garlic Tuna Burgers

Ingredients

  • 2 cans (6oz each) tuna, drained
  • 1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped green onions (I used a large bunch of chives, fresh from my garden)
  • 3 tablespoons minced fresh parsley (I used 2 Tbsp dried parsley)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (I used a few dashes of garlic powder)
  • 1/4 teaspoon each, salt and pepper
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 3 tablespoons sour cream
  • 1 egg
  • 4 English muffins
  • 4 leaves romaine
  • 1 small tomato, sliced

Directions

  1. Combine tuna, bread crumbs, green onions, parsley, garlic, salt & pepper, lemon juice, sour cream and egg. Mix well and form in to 4 patties. The mixture will be wet
  2. Place on a greased baking sheet (I just used ungreased tin foil; they came off ok, but it was a little tricky) and bake at 400°F for 20 minutes (or in a toaster oven, 10-20 minutes)
  3. Serve on the english muffins with lettuce and tomato. I ate mine open-faced on a piece of wheat bread with a slice of swiss cheese. Yummy!
Lemon Garlic Tuna Burger. Photo from CanYouStayForDinner.com
Lemon Garlic Tuna Burger. Photo from CanYouStayForDinner.com
14 thoughts on “Tuna Burgers

  1. Reblogged this on The Reluctant Weight Watchers Foodie and commented:
    I’ve really been enjoying fish lately. When I ran across this quick and easy recipe for homemade tuna burgers, I knew it would be my next re-blog! There are a few cans of tuna in my pantry that are looking pretty good right now… and I bet that using Chobani 0% Plain would be a fine substitute for the sour cream to make it even healthier. Enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

