Smoothies for Breakfast

Let me just state that I am morally opposed to anything that is considered or called a “Meal Replacement.” No one needs to replace their meal with anything. If anything we usually just need to edit what we’re eating a little, like chicken instead of beef, or a vegetarian meal (which are not, by default, healthy, by the way) once or twice a week. Body by Vi? What’s the point?! I want FOOD for lunch.

Ok, I admit it. I made a smoothie for breakfast. But it’s not a meal replacement because I usually never eat breakfast anyway! The smoothie is better than nothing. And don’t worry, I’ll never make it on the weekdays because I’m too lazy to get out of bed any earlier. Also, I will never drink a smoothie instead of lunch, so don’t roll your eyes at me yet; I am still going to eat that turkey sandwich.

The original recipe from IowaGirlEats.com is as follows:

Green Monster Spinach Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1 frozen sliced banana
  • 1 Tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 C 0% Vanilla Chobani Greek yogurt (I use regular plain yogurt)
  • 1 C Unsweetened Vanilla almond Breeze (or other kind of milk) (I use skim milk)
  • 4 Cups baby spinach

Directions

  1. Stick it all in a blender and liquify

Variation 1

Ingredients

  • 1 frozen, sliced banana
  • 3-4 frozen strawberries
  • 2 handfulls of baby spinach
  • 1 C milk
  • 1/2 Tbsp ground flaxseed
  • Honey to taste
  • 1/2 C greek yogurt (optional)

Variation 2

Ingredients

  • 1 banana, not frozen
  • 1 C skim milk
  • 3 ice cubes
  • a handful of strawberries
  • a drizzle of honey
  • 4 C baby spinach
12 thoughts on “Smoothies for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

