Yogurt Mustard Chicken

Yogurt, Chicken, Mustard and Other Stuff

After working out I want to eat something that’s not… well, beef. Or grease. I want to eat green things, lean things, fruity things. I just exhausted myself on an elliptical for an hour and I don’t want to undo that with a pizza; I’ll save that for a day when I’m not focusing on getting rid of my jiggly gut. So last night, despite wanting to cook about as much as i want to chew on nails, I made something that tasted good and didn’t make me feel guilty. It involved lots of things I already had on hand, and had no idea what to do with! But somehow it all worked. Once again, all measurements are approximate 🙂

Yogurt, Lemon, Mustard and Other Stuff Chicken

Ingredients

  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, fat trimmed off, cut into strips
  • 1-2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2-3 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 C + 2 Tbsp yellow mustard, divided
  • Drizzle of honey
  • 2 tsp fresh ground peppercorns, divided
  • 1 C plain yogurt, divided
  • A few dashes of curry powder
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • Your favorite greens, like spinach or spring mix

Directions

  1. In a saucepan stir together olive oil, red wine vinegar, mustard, curry powder, honey, 1 tsp pepper, and 1/2 C yogurt
  2. Add chicken strips, stir to coat the chicken, and heat through on low,  just at a simmer, for 10-15 minutes or until chicken is fully cooked
  3. Remove the chicken with a slotted spoon, set aside. Reserve 1 Tbsp of the liquid.
  4. In a small bowl mix 1/2 C yogurt, 2 Tbsp mustard, 1 tsp pepper, reserved 1 Tbsp of liquid from cooking the chicken, and Worcestershire sauce.
  5. Serve chicken over a bed of greens and drizzle with the yogurt-mustard dressing
4 thoughts on “Yogurt, Chicken, Mustard and Other Stuff

    1. I forgot to include the curry powder! There are a couple dashes of curry powder in the chicken cooking part. I’ll go add that in right now…

      Like

Leave a Reply

