Finally, A Winter Storm!

Elsewhere in the country, and across the world, we have heard reports of snowicanes dropping 18 feet of snow on unsuspecting villages. But here in Duluth it’s been downright balmy all winter. Forty degrees in January? Come on!

I will be the first to admit I’d rather live in a place where it’s 70°F all year round (I’m talking about you, San Diego), but that’s not where I live. I live on the shores of a lake where the water’s average annual temperature is only 40°F—I kind of expect winters with snow. It’s been so warm this year, though, that we’ve had about 50 inches of snow LESS than our average and quite frankly, even I’m getting a little annoyed. But finally, FINALLY we had a pretty decent storm! Of course the first thing Husband and I do is go directly down to the Lake to capture the anger. And while the Lake has definitely been angrier in the past, it was still impressive and fun.

Duluth, Canal Park, February 2012
Duluth, Canal Park, February 2012
Duluth, Canal Park, February 2012
Duluth, Canal Park, February 2012
Duluth, Canal Park, February 2012
Duluth, Canal Park, February 2012
2 thoughts on “Finally, A Winter Storm!

  1. Ah, beautiful. Snowy weather is the absolute best. I wish we had more of it here in New York.

    We could also do with a temperamental lake in the city. 🙂

    I enjoyed your photos; thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

