Potato Bacon Chowder

I normally try to stick to a new recipe pretty closely, without changing anything the first time I make it. But there are exceptions as I learn more about my tastes, what works for me and what doesn’t. The Potato Bacon Chowder recipe I found at AllRecipes.com is one that I tried to stick to, but changed a little. My notes are in green below.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups peeled, cubed potatoes (I used Yukon Gold)
  • 1 cup water (I found this was not enough. It boiled away before the potatoes were done)
  • 8 bacon strips
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery (ewe. Celery is gross. I did not use it and never, ever will)
  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of chicken soup, undiluted (I used cream of mushroom)
  • 1 3/4 cups milk
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt (I omitted this at first because I thought the bacon would provide enough salt, but I was very, very wrong)
  • Dash pepper
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley (I didn’t use this because I didn’t have any)
  • 1-2 tsp dried basil

Directions

  1. In a covered 3-qt. saucepan, cook potatoes in water until tender.
  2. Meanwhile, cook bacon in a skillet until crisp; remove to paper towels to drain.
  3. In the same skillet, saute onion and celery in drippings until tender; drain. Add to undrained potatoes.
  4. Stir in soup, milk, sour cream, salt and pepper. Cook over low heat for 10 minutes or until heated through (do not boil).
  5. Crumble bacon; set aside 1/4 cup. Add remaining bacon to soup along with parsley. Sprinkle with reserved bacon when serving.

Next time I will add more basil, possibly some oregano, and maybe even a dash or two of hot sauce. It was just a little too bland for my taste. I will add maybe 1/2 cup more potatoes too. A word of warning: do not add the bacon right away if you intend to make the chowder ahead of time and serve it the next day. It gets chewy and gross. Add it just before serving if you make it earlier. Honestly, though, I hate making bacon. It’s delicious, but it’s messy and I hate having to wipe down the stove surface, the side of the refrigerator, the floor surrounding the stove, the countertop next to the stove, all the things on the countertop… ugh. I might get lazy next time and just buy bacon bits.

7 thoughts on “Potato Bacon Chowder

  1. YUMMY!!! I love chowders! I don’t know if you are health conscious about added ingredients, but your Grandma D taught me a very simple way to avoid all the weird-ass stuff in canned soup. It is very simple and quick. Melt 2 T of butter; slowly add 2 T flour until you get a smooth paste. Then slowly wisk in milk until you have the consistency you want. You can add flavorings by adding chicken broth (saved from your last batch of boiled chicken), mushrooms, celery 😉 etc.

    Also, I agree about the bacon mess…eeewwwe. Try making it in the microwave. put a paper towel or two over the top to prevent the splatter.

    Love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

