Simple Black Bean Salad Wrap

Summer Black Bean Wrap

I am a little embarrassed but with the excitement and business of summer I completely forgot that I had this blog! I haven’t been cooking a lot because we don’t have A/C and therefore turning on the oven or stove is not ideal. But the other day I made a cold, summery black bean sandwich and actually remembered to document it! This recipe is adapted from my Better Homes & Gardens cookbook. It’s super simple and uses ingredients that I (mostly) always have on hand.

Ingredients:

  • 4 flour tortillas
  • 1-15oz can black beans
  • 1/2 C sweet bell pepper
  • 1/3 C mayonnaise
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • Cilantro or other herbs & spices to taste
  • leaf lettuce
  • cheese (optional)

Directions:

  1. Wrap the tortillas in foil and place in a warm oven about 10 minutes (to soften the tortillas. This step is optional – I never do it)
  2. Rinse and drain the black beans. Put them in a bowl and slightly mash them. Add the peppers, mayonnaise, lemon juice and herbs/spices. Mix well.
  3. Put a couple spoonfulls in the middle of a tortilla shell and top with lettuce and cheese (I like sharp cheddar or feta). Fold the tortilla like a burrito and eat!

The original recipe calls for cilantro, but last time I made this I didn’t have any. So I just used fresh cut chives from my garden and added a little black pepper. It’s a different flavor from the cilantro, but just as good! The lettuce I used was also from my garden; Mesclun mix.

8 thoughts on “Summer Black Bean Wrap

Leave a Reply

