Oatmeal—a continuing

In the article I referenced in my recent post about McDonald’s oatmeal it mentions my favorite brand and flavor of oatmeal – Quaker Peaches & Cream. It dared accuse my beloved eat-at-my-desk-because-I-didn’t-get-up-early-enough-for-breakfast food of not using real peaches. Desperate to prove this crazy person wrong I looked at the ingredients list the next time I went to the grocery store. And what do you think I found?

Well I’ll tell you what I DIDN’T find… peaches! That’s right! No peaches! In it’s place were words like “artificial flavor”, “flavored and colored fruit pieces”, and “sodium sulfite.” Don’t believe me? I scanned my last box of oatmeal to prove it:

 

Note a disturbing lack of “peaches” in the ingredient list

Oh Quaker! How could you do this to me? Ok, well at least you used dehydrated apples… that was at least healthy at one point. And please tell me, what is the point of the “creaming agent” which is actually—well, Mark Bittman said it best: “weird ingredients you would never keep in your kitchen.”? You have betrayed me, Quaker. But I won’t give up on you quite yet!

I’ve decided to give ACTUAL oats a try. The only ingredients in Quaker Oats Quick-1 Minute oatmeal are 100% Natural Whole Grain Quaker Rolled Oats. I also purchased some canned peaches (in pineapple juice, not heavy syrup) and dried cranberries to put on top. If I need more sweetness, I’ll add honey. We’ll see how this goes, but I’m pretty sure my insides will thank me, even if my tongue doesn’t.

6 thoughts on “Oatmeal—a continuing

    1. By the way the rolled oats are almost exactly the same as the other stuff in texture. They’re just not as sweet. I took care of that with a little bit of brown sugar and cinnamon, as well as peaches and, on one occasion, banana slices. It was pretty good!

      Like

  1. what’s funny is that I too became addicted to the instant oatmeal while growning up! mainly at your house – that’s the only place i had it. otherwise it was the kind in the big round cardboard box. I would try “Oat Revolution!” Peaches & Cream. there’s real peaches in there. I don’t have a scanner to prove it though. 😉

    Like

      1. I’m not sure if it’s new or what, but they have it at my little grocery store in town here and when it does on sale I get a few. They frequently sell for $1 per box wich comes out to be about 20cents per serving. the kids like it and it’s pretty cheap. and REAL peaches. 🙂

        http://www.betteroats.com/your_oats.php

        be careful not to add too much water. it doesn’t seem to “soak up” as much as the quacker does. and I don’t like runny oats!

        Like

Leave a Reply

