Buffalo Wings and Tacos

These days GO PACK GO! and J! E! T! S! JETS! JETS! JETS! can be heard for miles around coming from my living room. With my home team, the Packers, and Husband’s beloved NY Jets both making not only the playoffs, but also their divisional championships, it’s been pretty exciting on Sundays! What’s more amazing is that our local stations have actually been playing the games so we’ve been able to save a few dollars and eat at home. But I was missing the traditional Sunday trip to Buffalo Wild Wings and the tasty wings so I set out to make them myself.

GO PACK GO Buffalo Chicken Chunks
inspired by the recipe from WALTDOUD on Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into wing-sized chunks
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup red pepper sauce (I used Louisiana Hot Sauce)
  • 1/4 cup tomato sauce
  • 3/4 tablespoons chili powder (my brother-in-law gave us some insanely hot spice from a recent trip to Texas and I substituted it for the chili powder)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 cup (or to taste) light brown sugar, NOT packed (optional)
  • 3-4 Tbsp mayonnaise (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  2. Bake chicken chunks in preheated oven for 30 minutes
  3. Meanwhile, in a small bowl combine melted butter, red pepper sauce, tomato sauce, chili powder and cayenne pepper. Mix together. If the sauce isn’t thick enough, add the mayo. If it is too spicy, like it was for me, add the brown sugar until it’s at a tolerable level.
  4. When wings are baked, dip in sauce to coat well, then shake off excess and return coated wings to baking sheet. Reduce oven temperature to 250 degrees F (120 degrees C) and bake for another 15 minutes to set sauce.

I served them with some home-made blue cheese dressing, however it was a sloppy, runny mess. Had I had the correct ingredients, though, it would have been awesome, I’m sure. It came from my brand new cookbook, Nigella Kitchen, given to me for Christmas by my sister-in-law. The ingredients called for are were worcestershire sauce, steak sauce, buttermilk, whole milk and blue cheese. I did not have the whole milk or the blue cheese. I attempted to create a whole-milk substitute with mayo (I didn’t have any sour cream, or I would have used that) and skim milk but that failed miserably. I had feta cheese so I used that instead of blue and that actually worked wonderfully. The taste of the liquid was fantastic, but it was like pouring juice over my wings. Didn’t really work out all that well.

In any case, the title of this post includes tacos as well so on to those!

J! E! T! S! Buffalo Tacos

Ingredients:

  • Leftover buffalo sauce from the GO PACK GO Buffalo Chicken Chunks
  • Flour tortillas
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 can whole kernel corn
  • 1 can black beans
  • baby spinach
  • shredded cheese of your choice
  • blue cheese dressing

Directions:

  1. Fry the ground beef
  2. Put some beef, corn, black beans, spinach and cheese on a tortilla. Spoon buffalo sauce and blue cheese dressing over the top.
  3. Fold up the tortilla and eat!
Leave a Reply

