Black Bean & Corn Salad with Cilantro Lime Dressing

Here in Duluth it’s been raining for WEEKS and we finally have a beautiful day with a bright sun, blue skies, and a puffy white cloud every once in a while. So we’re taking this opportunity to grill out. Husband took over the main course (chicken and beef steak marinated in something that includes lime, chipotle peppers, and garlic) and that left me with finding something else to do. I wanted to try Black Bean And Corn Salad II by Jen posted on AllRecipes.com (I know, I use that site a lot. I promise I’m not getting paid!). I didn’t have most of the ingredients on the list but I knew I could make some substitutions so I went with it. I mainly just wanted the dressing part of the recipe anyway. Below is the recipe I ended up with.

Pasta Salad with Black Beans and Corn

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb rotini pasta
  • 1/3 C fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 tsp white balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 C olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp ground cayenne pepper
  • 2 (15 oz) cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can corn kernels
  • 1 can french-cut green beans
  • 2 avocados, peeled, pitted and diced
  • 1/4 C chives, chopped
  • 1/2 C fresh cilantro, chopped

Directions:

  1. Cook the pasta to al dente. Drain and set aside to cool completely.
  2. Whisk together lime juice, olive oil, garlic, salt, and cayenne pepper.
  3. In a large serving bowl combine cooled pasta, black beans, green beans, corn, avocado, bell pepper, tomatoes, chives and cilantro. Pour lime dressing over veggies and toss to coat. Serve chilled.

The original recipe called for tomatoes and red bell pepper, which I would not have omitted if I’d had some, the pepper in particular. It would have added much needed crunch and color. One commenter from AllReciepes.com suggested adding crushed tortilla chips, which I think would be great, but you’d have to add them when serving or they’d get soggy. Next time we’re going to add cucumbers (hopefully from our garden) and olives as well as the bell pepper and tomato that we didn’t have this time.

2 thoughts on “Black Bean & Corn Salad with Cilantro Lime Dressing

Leave a Reply

