Going Veg

Watch this video: “Foods that Kill Healthy Eating,” a lecture given by Dr. Michael Klaper about the perils of eating too much meat. It was pretty disgusting and a bit of an eye opener, dated though the video may be. One of the first things he demonstrated was what happens to your blood just after eating meat. Samples of blood taken just after someone had eaten a cheeseburger had actually congealed just a few minutes after being drawn. The blood keeps this property for up to four hours so if you have bacon for breakfast, a burger for lunch, and a meaty lasagna for dinner your blood will have enough fat in it ALL DAY to congeal at room temperature. Of course, if our blood ever gets to room temperature we are in more trouble than blocked veins, but the point is that there is enough fat in your blood to cause major damage and can lead to clogged arteries.

Now, the patient whose blood had been sampled in the cheeseburger experiment had gone in for a quadruple bypass surgery. While they were digging around in his heart they literally pulled a thick strand of fat out of his artery. They showed a video of this and I nearly vomited; I had just eaten a burger for both lunch and dinner.

Dr Klaper made made a lot of good points in the hour-long video about the perils of eating too much meat and the benefits of going vegetarian. He went so far as to say you should never, for any reason, eat meat, though I have always believed that an everything-in-moderation approach is always best. I do see the value in reducing meat & animal product intake, though. So my husband and I have decided to make it a goal. To start, we are just going to try to do 1 or 2 vegetarian days a week. I’m looking for vegetarian recipes for lunch and dinner, so if anyone has any recommendations, I’m willing to try them! However, I think we need to work up to the tofu.

**Update 1/5/2016**

Wow, it’s been a long time since I wrote all that! I still agree that a mainly vegetarian diet is the healthiest course, but I had forgotten all about that nasty video. I’m happy to report that these days we’re doing, on average, 4 to 5 meatless days a week. This largely has to do with how expensive meat is where we live and surprisingly it’s the same price, if not cheaper, to eat alternative ingredients like seitan, tofu and tempeh. I’ve purchased a couple good veg cookbooks to help find tasty ways to eat healthier. The Complete Vegetarian Cookbook by America’s Test Kitchen, a book focused on meticulous step-by-step methods resulting in the most amazing food you’ve ever tasted, and One-Dish Vegan by Robin Robertson, a book with usually simpler methods but a bit more hit-or-miss with the taste. All-in-all I don’t miss the meat and when I do cook with it I try to stick with cage-free, hormone- and antibiotic-free chicken. Costs more but since I eat less of it it really doesn’t matter.

5 thoughts on “Going Veg

  1. NO TOFU!!! Nasty stuff!!! It is literally PIG FOOD!!

    For TASTY vegetarian meals, look to Indian (from India) cuisine. Grab a jar of your favorite Curry sauce from the store. Add potatoes, tomatoes, onions, garlic, a little ginger root (to keep the indigestion away), peas or lentils or whatever legume tickles your fancy, carrots, and whatever other veggies you need to empty out of your frig. It is a very satisfying meal. Serve with Naan bread or another artisan bread of your choice. Don’t forget the peppers!

    Fry your veggies in a little olive oil, then simmer in the curry sauce.

    I saw some interesting Indian cooking on TV. I “American-up” the recipes a little. They tended to have a lot of mushy or pasty foods….maybe ‘cuz they don’t have many teeth to eat with. I tend to leave my veggies in chunk form….easily recognizable.

    Like

    1. I’m not a huge fan of curry. There’s something about the smell that doesn’t agree with my stomach :/ unfortunately that seems to be the vegetarian flavor of choice in a lot of the recipes I’ve found. sigh

      Like

  2. So the blood chemistry changed after eating a cheeseburger. Was it the bun, cheese, meat or the condiments that changed the blood chemistry?

    I’ve never heard of anyone having an allergy to red meat products. You can be allergic to wheat, nuts, milk and stuff like that, but not red meat? I think allergies tell us a lot more about what our bodies can handle.

    From what I’ve been seeing, the problems with fat in the body come from things that are easily changed into sugars. Starchy stuff like bread, potatoes, pasta all change into sugar easily and are stored as fat in the body.

    Fat does not move directly into the blood. It is changed in the stomach, as are all foods.

    Like

    1. I am not a scientist so I cannot be 100% sure of myself in this, however my research indicates that what happened to the blood in the video was hypertriglyceridemia, an elevation in triglycerides in plasma. Triglycerides are found in the fat of animal-based foods. I found information about it here: http://www.americanheart.org/presenter.jhtml?identifier=4778

      The blood did not change, the amount of triglycerides increased causing the plasma to ‘thicken.’ This was not an allergic reaction, it is what happens to everyone after they eat a meal high in animal-based fats. Hypertriglyceridemia is linked to coronary artery disease.

      I strongly believe in the “Everything in moderation” adage and by no means do I believe that eating any meat at all will kill you or is bad for you. But I do see the need to reduce my personal intake of animal meat in order to improve my health.

      Like

  3. Sorry, I’ll not be joining you. I enjoy meat.
    My daughter was reading something about eating right for your type. Basically different blood types and different sexes need different types of meal types. Males, especially active ones, need more meat than women. Blood type makes a difference for some reason also. As we age our food needs also change. You need to understand your body and it’s needs. Exercise, eat right, laugh, love and live well, but not too well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

