Better Than Sex Cake

Even though my husband has put me on “dessert probation” because of my 15lb Christmas cookie bake-a-thon, I went ahead and made a cake anyway. I just wanted cake. He doesn’t have to eat it if he doesn’t want to, but good luck!

I worked with what I already had in my pantry and ended up with my own spin on “Better-Than-Sex” cake. I didn’t have caramel ice cream topping, but I had caramel pieces. I didn’t have toffee bits either so they were omitted. It still ended up super tasty!

From the Pantry: Better-Than-Sex Cake

Ingredients

[Cake]

  • 1 box Devil’s Food cake mix + whatever ingredients the box says it needs
  • 1 can (14 oz, or smaller if you can find it) sweetened condensed milk
  • a handful of brown sugar
  • white chocolate chips
  • 1 bag caramel bits
  • 1 Tbsp milk

[Topping]

  • 2 C heavy whipping cream
  • 2 oz liquor (optional, works great with rum, bourbon or honey liqueur)
  • 1/2 to 3/4 C powdered sugar

Directions

  1. Make the cake batter as directed on the package and pre-heat the oven to the temperature indicated on the box. Lightly grease a 9×13 baking dish.
  2. Pour the batter into greased baking dish and sprinkle brown sugar over the top of the batter. This is to taste; I was generous. Then sprinkle a bunch of white chocolate chips over the top, again, to taste.
  3. Bake the cake according to the package instructions, keeping an eye on the brown sugar. It started to burn toward the end for me, but it was still tasty!
  4. During the last 5-10 minutes of baking, in a small saucepan, combine about half the bag of caramel bits, 1/4 to half the can of sweetened condensed milk, and 1 Tbsp of milk. Melt over medium-low heat until well combined. Do not leave unattended as the caramel could burn. Stir often.
  5. Take the cake out of the oven and poke holes in it with the end of a wooden spoon, or your (clean) finger. Pour the remaining sweetened condensed milk over the cake, making sure to pour it over the holes. You might not need to use the whole can. Then pour the caramel mixture on top of that.
  6. Let the cake cool.
  7. Make whipped topping: With the whisk attachment on an electric mixer, beat heavy whipping cream until soft peaks form. Add liquor if using, and powdered sugar. Beat until stiff peaks form.
  8. Spread topping over cooled cake, cut and serve
From the Pantry: Better than Sex Cake
Didn’t have all the proper ingredients for Better than Sex Cake, so I used what I had and figured it out.
2 thoughts on “Better Than Sex Cake

Leave a Reply

